Educational Services

Welcome to the Educational Services Department

Student learning is our passion! The Educational Services staff is deeply committed to providing every student with a rigorous and enriching academic experience. We strive to cultivate 21st Century Competencies to enable students to succeed in a complex technology driven world.

As part of Educational Services commitment to excellence, staff works closely with each of the district’s eight school sites to ensure that the highest quality of curriculum, instructional strategies and materials are accessible to all students.  Our academic efforts also extend to providing student services, special education, technology innovation, state and local assessment development and administration, extracurricular and enrichment activities as well as preschool and afterschool programming.

To accomplish department goals, we model leadership that embodies critical thinking, collaboration, creativity, communication, caring and empower staff through the delivery of diverse and high quality professional development. As the heart of the district, educational services links stakeholders to current initiatives, provides staff access to effective tools, and optimizes time for teachers to collaborate and share ideas.

Community Partnerships with parents, institutions of learning, as well as community and business leaders propel the work of local schools to new heights and enable all students to be researchers, constructors of knowledge, and applicators of 21st Century learning.  If you are interested in becoming a partner of the Rio School District please contact Wanda Kelly, Director of Partnerships, Innovations and Principal Support at wkelly@rioschools.com

We would love to hear your feedback or questions you may have about Rio School District educational programs. Feel free to email us at larceo@rioschools.org or Assistant Superintendent Oscar Hernandez ohernandez@rioschools.org

State Standards

The State Standards section provides information on National, State and Regional standards.

Common Core Standards
Next Generation Science Standards
State Standards

Educational Services Staff

Oscar Hernandez
Assistant Superintendent of Educational Services
(805) 485-3111 ext.2131; ohernandez@rioschools.org

Lucy Arceo
Admin. Secretary I
(805) 485-3111 ext.2131; larceo@rioschools.org

Maria Rivera
Clerical Support Specialist
(805) 485-3111 ext.2132; mrivera28@rioschools.org

Elena Ramirez
Student Data Systems Specialist
(805) 485-3111 ext.2119; eramirez@rioschools.org

Eve Acosta
Analyst
(805) 485-3111 ext.2120; eacosta@rioschools.org

Betsy Pegler
Teacher on Special Assignment (TOSA)
(805) 485-3111 ext.2121; bpegler@rioschools.org

Sara Juarez
Teacher on Special Assignment (TOSA)
(805) 485-3111 ext.2123; sjuarez@rioschools.org

Leslie Pimentel
Teacher on Special Assignment (TOSA)
(805) 485-3111 ext.2122; lpimentel@rioschools.org

What’s New in Education Services:

Rio Professional Courtesies

SBAC / CAASPP – the new Common Core testing system (resources here)

Title III Funding Plan Addendum

Learn about state funding changes (LCFF/LCAP)

Rio Williams Notice / Proceso Uniforme Para La Presentación De Quejas Williams

PARENT/EMPLOYEE REVISED UNIFORM COMPLAINT PROCEDURE

EMPLOYEE

PARENT