Rio Vista Middle School http://rioschools.org/riovista Where Condors Dare to Soar! Fri, 03 Feb 2017 21:43:26 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.5.6 2016 Winter Concert http://rioschools.org/riovista/2016-winter-concert/ http://rioschools.org/riovista/2016-winter-concert/#respond Mon, 12 Dec 2016 08:42:31 +0000 http://rioschools.org/riovista/?p=2037

2016 Winter Concerts


Rio Vista Choir



Rio Vista Guitars



Rio Vista Piano Ensemble



Rio Vista Band and Symphony


Rio Vista Winter Concert Photos


]]>
http://rioschools.org/riovista/2016-winter-concert/feed/ 0
On The Radio http://rioschools.org/riovista/on-the-radio/ http://rioschools.org/riovista/on-the-radio/#respond Mon, 06 Jun 2016 17:05:50 +0000 http://www.rioschools.org/riovista/?p=1746

On The Radio



]]>
http://rioschools.org/riovista/on-the-radio/feed/ 0
2016-2017 Academic Calendar http://rioschools.org/riovista/2016-2017-academic-calendar/ http://rioschools.org/riovista/2016-2017-academic-calendar/#respond Thu, 12 May 2016 21:47:24 +0000 http://rioschools.org/riovista/2016-2017-academic-calendar/

2016-2017 Rio Schools Academic Calendar


Click on the link below to open the calendar:

2016-2017 Academic Calendar (PDF)

]]>
http://rioschools.org/riovista/2016-2017-academic-calendar/feed/ 0
2016 Rio Art Collective Exhibition http://rioschools.org/riovista/2016-rio-art-collective-exhibition/ http://rioschools.org/riovista/2016-rio-art-collective-exhibition/#respond Tue, 03 May 2016 21:59:06 +0000 http://rioschools.org/riovista/?p=1772

2016 Rio Art Collective Exhibition


]]>
http://rioschools.org/riovista/2016-rio-art-collective-exhibition/feed/ 0
2016 Learning Garden at Rio Vista http://rioschools.org/riovista/2016-learning-garden-at-rio-vista-3/ http://rioschools.org/riovista/2016-learning-garden-at-rio-vista-3/#respond Mon, 11 Apr 2016 21:02:55 +0000 http://rioschools.org/riovista/2016-learning-garden-at-rio-vista-3/

2016 Learning Garden Rio Vista

]]>
http://rioschools.org/riovista/2016-learning-garden-at-rio-vista-3/feed/ 0
Why Art Matters? http://rioschools.org/riovista/why-art-matters/ http://rioschools.org/riovista/why-art-matters/#respond Tue, 26 Jan 2016 04:34:04 +0000 http://www.rioschools.org/riovista/why-art-matters/ This year the Rio School District has made a concerted effort to develop our Visual arts programs across our eight schools. In doing so, we hired two new outstanding art teachers who are working to develop art lessons and learning with students and teachers alike. This week we will hold our first art show of the year which we hope to follow up with our end of year show in May.

There are many great thinkers who answer the question posed by by this blog. Elliott Eisner, Daniel Pink, and many others are resources to describe why integrating arts into learning is essential as well as why art for art’s sake is equally a deep human need.

From my point of view, as a graduate of a Bachelor of Fine Arts program and a life long maker and lover of art, art is a basic element of what it means to be a human being. Not having arts in schools removes this basic element and steals the opportunity for students to experience and learn about themselves and their world. Art has existed as long as there have been humans. We can look to the caves of Las Caux or Rock art of the Chumash to see human’s expressive yearnings to use visual imagery to understand and communicate their understandings of their world, themselves, and their realities.

In the last few years I have found a treasure trove of creativity in the children and teachers of the Rio School District. Integrating the Arts in our daily learning activities has promoted children’s development of 21st century practices; communication, collaboration, critical thinking, creativity, and caring. These practices are needed deeply to survive and thrive in our modern society even as they were essential for humans over the last forty thousand years of our existence. Some say, it is art, that separates us from the beasts, although I have seen some amazing artwork created by elephants and monkeys.

]]>
http://rioschools.org/riovista/why-art-matters/feed/ 0
Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. http://rioschools.org/riovista/dr-martin-luther-king-jr/ http://rioschools.org/riovista/dr-martin-luther-king-jr/#respond Mon, 18 Jan 2016 08:30:30 +0000 http://www.rioschools.org/riovista/dr-martin-luther-king-jr/ Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. was an American man that left teachers and students an endless legacy of learning for as long as there are schools , lessons, and the country we call the United States of America. In memory of his legacy, I often sing a song I wrote with classes as a way to talk and teach about MLK.

The lyrics go like this;

We are free free
We are free, free, free
We are free free
Thank you Martin Luther King

Black or white
Yellow, brown, red
Its not your color
Its the person instead

We are, are, are
Free!
We are, are, are
Free!

We are very proud
We sing right out loud
We are very proud
That Dr. King could help us out

We are, are, are
Free!
We are, are, are
Free!

Dr. King’s life is testament to many things in life. For students, I like to highlight what a great reader, writer, and thinker he was as well as how he lived and gave his life for the cause of Love and Peace.

MLK Day is a great day in my book.

]]>
http://rioschools.org/riovista/dr-martin-luther-king-jr/feed/ 0
Dance Scenario December Concert http://rioschools.org/riovista/dance-scenario-december-concert/ http://rioschools.org/riovista/dance-scenario-december-concert/#respond Sat, 16 Jan 2016 02:56:21 +0000 http://www.rioschools.org/riovista/?p=1508
]]>
http://rioschools.org/riovista/dance-scenario-december-concert/feed/ 0
Barber of Seville December 2015 Concert http://rioschools.org/riovista/barber-of-seville-december-2015-concert/ http://rioschools.org/riovista/barber-of-seville-december-2015-concert/#respond Tue, 12 Jan 2016 23:01:41 +0000 http://www.rioschools.org/riovista/?p=1497


Barber of Seville December 2015 Concert

]]>
http://rioschools.org/riovista/barber-of-seville-december-2015-concert/feed/ 0
2015-2016 Bell Schedules http://rioschools.org/riovista/20152016-bell-schedules/ Tue, 25 Aug 2015 21:09:39 +0000 http://www.rioschools.org/riovista/20152016-bell-schedules/

2015-2016 Bell Schedules

]]>