Student and Family Services Staff

Wanda Kelly, Migrant Instructional Support Teacher
(805) 983-1662 ext. 2308; wkelly@rioschools.org

  • Summer school
  • Special projects
  • Parent training programs
  • Migrant Education program
Wanda Kelly

Wanda Kelly

Migrant Instructional Support Teacher

Sonya Lopez Mercado, Ed.D., After School Program Coordinator
(805) 485-3111 ext. 2124 smercado@rioschools.org

Sonya Lopez Mercado, Ed.D.

Sonya Lopez Mercado, Ed.D.

After School Program Coordinator

Samantha Vega-Flynn, School Readiness Specialist
(805) 981-2892; svega-flynn@rioschools.org

  • 0 to 3 programming and instruction
  • Preparing parents and children for kindergarten
  • Curriculum development for overall school readiness
  • Translation
Samantha Vega-Flynn

Samantha Vega-Flynn

School Readiness Specialist

Melissa Navarrete, Migrant Clerk
(805) 983-1662 ext. 2307; mnavarrete@rioschools.org

  • Main point of contact for the Migrant program
  • Refers parents and children for district programs
  • Connects clients to services including medical, dental, behavioral health and academic resources through home visits, consultation and class instruction
  • Parent outreach and family engagement
  • Basic needs support
  • Translates and interprets District communications between District staff and non-English speaking parents
Melissa Navarrete

Melissa Navarrete

Migrant Clerk

Jisela Ramirez, Family Development Worker
(805) 981-2892; jramirez@rioschools.org

  • Main point of contact for the Rio Neighborhood for Learning and preschool
  • Recruits and enrolls parents and children for district programs
  • Connects clients to services including medical, dental, behavioral health and academic resources through home visits, consultation and class instruction
  • Parent outreach and family engagement
  • Basic needs support
Jisela Ramirez

Jisela Ramirez

Family Development Worker

Nora Alfaro, Data Entry
(805) 981-2892; nalfaro@rioschools.org

Nora Alfaro

Nora Alfaro

Data Entry

Catalina Almazan,
(805) 981-2892; catalina.almazan@mixteco.org

Catalina Almazan

Catalina Almazan